About the MSSGA

Montana State Senior Golf was founded in 1955 to give senior golfers an opportunity to compete with golfers their own age. 

In the 60-plus years since that start, thousands of golfers 55 and older have taken to the links to test themselves against each other and to make new friends.  Some of those golfers have never won a flight, but they travel hundreds of miles, year after year, to participate in an event that’s more about playing with their peers than shooting their best score — although that career round at the state tournament can be an annual dream.

The State Senior Golf Tournament rotates to cities around the state that have facilities to host the event.  The association’s board of directors come from those cities and the surrounding areas.  This provides representation from around the state as well as local resources for managing tournament activities when the senior tourney comes to their area.

The 2021 officers are from the Butte area, as they will host the tournament next August.  The Executive Director manages ongoing activities associated with recruiting, maintaining and serving the association’s 500 members, as well as coordinating the annual tournament.

A brief history:
In 1955, a small group of senior golfers led by Carlos (C.C.) Vaughn, Frank Kall, Chet Francis and a few others persuaded the Montana State Amateur Golf Association to include a separate flight for Senior Golfers during the State Amateur annual tournament held in Butte.
Twenty-two senior golfers entered … Frank Kall of Butte was the winner.

This was the start of Senior Golf in Montana.  In 1956 in Missoula, the winner of the Senior Flight was C.C. Vaughn.  In 1957 in Great Falls, Mickey Childs was the winner.

In 1958, Vaughn, Kall and Francis, along with Chet Dickson, “Dibbs” Mitchell, Jack Sterling, Dr. Don Barnett and Ernie Shadoan, decided that senior golfers in Montana deserved to have their own separate tournament. It was held in Helena with 31 entrants.  Jack Sterling of Helena and Dr. Don Barnett of Missoula tied for the title…they decided instead of a playoff to be co-champions.

And so was born…THE MONTANA STATE SENIOR GOLF ASSN. A state tournament has been held each year since.

              by Bill Hodges and Ernie Shadoan in 1981

Montana State Senior Golf Association
P.O. Box 192
Helena, MT  59624

Kevin Hayes
Executive Director
Dave Bauer
Asst. Executive Director

Dick O’Leary
President – Butte
Ron Hanni
Gery Schneider

Vice Presidents – Butte

Joe Bateson – Bozeman
Duane Behm – Laurel
Peter Benson – Billings
Russ Cravens  Missoula
Pat Darbro – Bozeman
Lynn Dickey – Clancy
Neil Dunham – Kalispell                    
Fid Fitterer – Great Falls
Robert Goodan – Lewistown
Ron Hanni – Butte                      
Kurt Kessner – Great Falls
Randy Michael – Laurel
Bill Murray – Helena
Gordon Nelsen – Conrad
Dick O’Leary – Butte             
Mike Peissig – Missoula
Dan Purcell – Bigfork
Ben Schmitt – Bozeman
Gery Schneider – Butte
Tom Shea – Bozeman
Rex Tanberg – Great Falls 

%d bloggers like this: